Wings

Published July 24, 2011 by myliteraryleanings


Wings by Aprilynne Pike

Overview: Laurel was mesmerized, staring at the pale things with wide eyes. They were terrifyingly beautiful—too beautiful for words.

Laurel turned to the mirror again, her eyes on the hovering petals that floated beside her head. They looked almost like wings.

In this extraordinary tale of magic and intrigue, romance and danger, everything you thought you knew about faeries will be changed forever.

My Review:

I think this review will be short kind of like the like the book.  In fact, I found it odd that this was in fact the shortest book that I have read for this blog so far.  I liked it a lot but there is not much that I can say about it since there’s not much there.  The fact that Stephanie Meyer has endorsed it led me to suspect, correctly, that it would have a similar theme or style.  Perhaps I was more open to it though because I didn’t know much about faeries at all before reading this book so I didn’t have the hang ups that I did about the whole vampire/werewolf thing.  I mean, my knowledge of faeries consisted of basically just Tinkerbell.

That’s not to say that I didn’t like Meyer’s books, I did.  I just was a little uncomfortable with some of her idea and I wasn’t in love with it the way that some people were.  Still her books were a good read.

Anyway back to this book.  Despite the main character, Laurel, having such perfect looks and features, this didn’t turn me off.  I think it is realistic because I think everyone had at least one girl in her high school like that who they loved to hate.  She just seemed too perfect.  She never got a zit, never gained weight, most probably was a cheerleader, and dated the most popular guy in school too.  For me, Laurel is that person except, as she soon discovers, there’s something different about her.

In a lot of ways she’s very normal though.  She loves her parents but doesn’t understand their advice at times.

“‘So wear what you want.  If your clothes are enough to drive would-be friends away, they’re not the kind of friends you want.’

“Typical mother advice.  Sweet, honest, and completely useless.”

As you might have figured out by now, Laurel finds that her parents not only are not her biological parents (they had already shared this information with her) but they don’t know who she is exactly or where she comes from.  All they know is her eating habits are not the same as a normal teenage girl and she was left on their doorstep as a three-year-old child.

It turns out that not only is she not a normal teenage girl, she is not only, not human, and not even mammalian.  Laurel is a plant.  It turns out that that’s what faeries are, plants.

She discovers this when a giant bump in her back turns into something that would for sure make her a freak show candidate.   She starts growing something like a flower on her back, the petals of which resemble wings, hence the title I presume.

Later she learns a lot more from a guy named Tamani, a male faerie who is connected to her past and just happens to be living on the land that her family owns.  While her parents are desperately trying to sell the land, Tamani enlists Laurel’s help to persuade them not to, hoping to prevent it from falling into the wrong hands.  Meanwhile she must accept who she is and all the is in her past with the help of a handsome science hunk named David (now that part did seem unrealistic to me) and her not so new friend Tamani.  Will she be able to prevent an all out faerie war?  Read the book and find out.  Go ahead, it is a good read.

One comment on “Wings

  • Leave a Reply

