New Rating System

Published November 13, 2011 by myliteraryleanings

In line with my goal of writing book reviews that not only evaluate that quality of the story that is contained in a given novel, but also help persons of conservative sensibilities evaluate how a book may or may not potentially offend them, I will now add a new section to all my future reviews.  From this moment on, at the bottom of every future review, I will feature a section that will simply be headed with the word Contains, followed by anything I might have noticed in the book that might be offensive to morally sensitive or old-fashioned readers like myself.

I realize that while something might offend me, it may not offend someone else and vise-versa.  Therefore, I will simply list the potentially offensive aspects of the book that I might have noticed while reading it, and let the reader be his or her own judge.  This is not an exhaustive list and is not intended to be viewed that way.  It is, however, a tool for the reader to use to decided when trying to decide if he or she feels comfortable investing their time and/or money into a particular book.  I will do my best, but I give no guarantee that I may have missed something that might have offended someone else, nor that I might offend someone else by listing something that another reader loves about the book.  Use your own judgement.  Happy reading and as always, feel free to leave a comment about anything in any of my reviews.  As long as it is clean and relevant to the review, I will publish it.

Leave a Reply

