Bring on the Blessings

Published March 25, 2012 by myliteraryleanings

Review of Bring on the Blessings by Beverly Jenkins

Overview from www.bn.com: On Bernadine Brown’s fifty-second birthday she received an unexpected gift—she caught her husband, Leo, cheating with his secretary. She was hurt—angry, too—but she didn’t cry woe is me. Nope, she hired herself a top-notch lawyer and ended up with a cool $275 million. Having been raised in the church, she knew that when much is given much is expected, so she asked God to send her a purpose.

The purpose turned out to be a town: Henry Adams, Kansas, one of the last surviving townships founded by freed slaves after the Civil War. The failing town had put itself up for sale on the Internet, so Bernadine bought it.

My Review:

Again, we have another Free Friday offering. This one seemed to be the first intriguing one in weeks so I downloaded it. Although, it was not exactly what I expected (I didn’t realize till I went to the author’s website that most of the characters were African-American for example), I can’t say I regret that decision.

As you can read above, our main character Bernadine decides that travelling around the world isn’t the only way to put her new-found wealth to good use. After reading a newspaper article about foster kids in a small town and seeing a news report about a town putting itself up for sale on eBay, Bernadine finally realizes what God wants her to do with her new fortune.

But of course buying the town is only the beginning. Winning over the current residents and the foster children will not be so easy. The former mayor, Riley, is her biggest opponent. He was against the sale from the beginning. When the majority voted against him, he decided to thwart all of her efforts while occasionally sneaking around with his pet pig Cletus in hopes of getting him a TV deal. And yes, I am serious though I can see why you might be laughing. The scenes with Riley and Cletus are some of the funniest in the book.

The story is a great read when you are looking for something uplifting to carry you through the day. I appreciated that since a lot of the books I was reading there for a while were so depressing I was expecting that the main characters might commit suicide at any minute. I am trying to be more positive and this book certainly helped lightened the mood but without trivializing what some of the characters were going through.

I’ll admit I was a little worried after I visited Ms. Jenkins web site and saw some of the other books that she had written. Although I have never read them, they looked like they might be overtly sexual and I don’t like to read stories that are overtly sexual. I decided to give her a chance though and I am glad I did.

There was little mention of sex in this book and it was not graphic nor did Ms. Jenkins linger there too long. There were a few suggestive phrases but nothing that made me want to stop reading.

The only thing that did bother me a little bit was that I thought the swear words were a little bit excessive for my taste but again, I kept reading. I did appreciate how the author always showed the adults trying to curb the kids from swearing.

Another thing I noticed was that the manuscript didn’t seem to have the best editing. There were some cases of words capitalized that shouldn’t have been as well as words that should have been in there that seem to have been omitted.

I am glad that the writer ended the story on a happy note even if all of the subplots were not yet resolved. This is, after all, the first book in the series so we can expect to hear more about these story lines in future books.

As for me, I am not sure if it will be enough to keep me reading all the way through the series. I am still afraid that there might be graphic sex in future books which I do not want to read. Also, I am just not sure what else can happen in that town now that the kids seemed to be behaving themselves. Perhaps the story with Cletus and Riley might provide something entertaining but I am not sure about the rest of the characters.

Regardless, I am still recommending this one, though perhaps not as strongly as I have recommended others in the past. I thought it was a great way to pass the time without getting bogged down in boring details or getting depressed like I have with some books. Let me know if you feel the same after you read it.

Contains: sexual innuendo, swearing, a little bit of violence

Leave a Reply

