The Juliet Club

Published April 14, 2012 by myliteraryleanings

Review of The Juliet Club by Suzanne Harper

Overview from www.bn.com: Kate Sanderson has been burned by love. From now on, she thinks, I will control my own destiny, and I will be reasoned and rational. But life has other things in store for Kate. Namely, a summer abroad studying Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet in the very town where the star-crossed lovers met, Verona, Italy. Kate is thrown together with two other American teens and three Italians for a special seminar—and for volunteer duty at the Juliet Club, where they answer letters from the lovelorn around the world. Can Kate’s cool logic withstand the most romantic summer ever? Especially when faced with the ever-so-charming Giacomo and his entrancing eyes . . . ?

My Review:

When considering how I might review this book, I told myself, I would have to consider what it is and not try to make it into what it isn’t. For example, it is not a serious work of historical fiction (or any other serious work for that matter) like the last novel that I reviewed.

In fact, I think if you take it too seriously, you will probably not like it. This was the problem I had at first. The ending, while happy, could not have remained happy for very long. I don’t want to say any more than that for fear of giving the ending away but if you read it, you’ll see what I mean.

Once I realized this, I was able to enjoy the story for what it was– a fun story of escape and romance. It is probably every young girl’s dream of a romantic fantasy on their trip to Italy. If you don’t think about it too much, you’ll probably enjoy it, like I did.

That being said, the thing that I like the most about this story was the connections to both Italy and Shakespeare. I love Shakespeare plays and I loved reading them in high school, but as I recall, most of my classmates didn’t. I think a girl who reads this novel, might find herself more interested in Shakespeare. The way the author hones in on the plays and how they relate to the plot of this book and the way that she “translated” some of the lines in more modern English just might get them thinking.

I know it did for me. Although I have already read Romeo and Juliet, the play that our main characters are studying for a summer, she has drawn my attention to other lesser known plays that I have not yet read. I think I’ll have to check them out for myself. And if I do, I might review them on this site. Though I think it might be rude to have the temerity to review the Bard. At least, he’s not around anymore to chew me out.

The other thing that I liked about this book was the way the author included the Italian dialogue. She could have avoided it altogether but instead she embraces it. I only found one mistake and even that I could be wrong about since I have never been to Verona and don’t know the area well.

To conclude, I think you could like this book if you like romance. You also might like it if you are interested in Shakespeare, Italy, or the Juliet club. And above all, you will like it much more if you don’t take to seriously. Just relax and enjoy the ride.

Contains: some kissing- that was really all I could come up with.

Below is the book trailer for this movie. I think it is also a good one.

One comment on “The Juliet Club

  • Leave a Reply

