Anne of the Island

Published June 23, 2012 by myliteraryleanings

Review of Anne of the Island by L.M. Montgomery

Overview from www.bn.com: In Anne of the Island by Lucy Maud Montgomery – Anne leaves Green Gables, and her work as a teacher in Avonlea, to pursue her original dream (which she gave up in “Anne of Green Gables”), to take further education at Redmond College in Nova Scotia. Gilbert Blythe and Charlie Sloane are there as well, as are Anne’s friends from Queens’s College, Priscilla Grant and Stella Maynard. During her first week of school, Anne befriends Philippa Gordon, a beautiful girl whose frivolous ways charm her. Philippa (Phil for short) is also from Anne’s birthplace, which is Bolingbroke, Nova Scotia.

My Review:

Following my reading of Anne of Avonlea and eager to hear what happens next to Anne as she finally fulfills her dream of going to Redmond, I checked out a copy of Anne of the Island. This is the third book in the series and the only one that I knew nothing about before reading it.

Before reading this, Anne of Green Gables had been my favorite book in the series but this one might be a close second. I enjoyed it immensely as Anne and Gilbert finally seemed to have resolved the exact nature of their relationship. I won’t spoil it for you by telling you how but I will say that the ending was satisfying. I hope I will soon be able to see what is next for Anne in the next book of the series.

On reading this book I found myself thinking a lot about just what it was that I liked so much about the whole Anne series. I decided that besides the town of Avonlea itself, the best thing that the books have going for them are the characters. Starting of course with Anne herself, Montgomery manages to paint the most colorful characters without breaking a sweat and without overdoing it with clichés.

Anne stays in touch with her old friends throughout her college years on the numerous trips she takes back to Green Gables. And manages to make new ones that are just as unique.

On the other end of the spectrum, Anne must also deal with the loss of a good friend. She grapples with what it means to lose an old school chum and at such a young age. Without this dear friend she is comforted only with the thought that at least she was able to help the girl come to terms with her death.

I don’t want to say too much more about this one for fear that I will give something away but I think Anne fans will love this one. Many great things happen for Anne in this novel. I don’t think anyone would want to miss them.

Contains: nothing objectionable that I could find.

3 comments on “Anne of the Island

  • I think Anne of the Island is definitely the second most popular book of the series in general (because of Gilbert!). I really like this one, too. I think one of Montgomery’s greatest successes, however, that I loved the whole series even when I was a kid, even when Anne gets old enough to have children of her own.

    • Wow, I have not read that far into the series yet but based on your description I am looking forward to it. I liked all of the first three but I think Green Gables and this one are my favorites so far. Thanks for sharing. You gave me something more to look forward too on future books.

  • Leave a Reply

