Raven Strike

Published August 25, 2012 by myliteraryleanings

Review of Raven Strike by Dale Brown and Jim DeFelice

Overview from www.bn.com:

The mission is classified . . . and illegal

In the blistering heat of the Sudan, the CIA has gone rogue. On the trail of a notorious terrorist, Agency operatives have overstepped their sanctioned boundaries. And now the ultimate weapon has fallen into the wrong hands.

As Danny Freah and his spec-ops team scramble to recover a top-secret aircraft that has crashed in Africa, Whiplash Director Jonathon Reid finds himself mysteriously shut off from information about the robot drone and its mission. Maneuvering through the twisted back corridors of the CIA and Washington’s power elite, Reid discovers secrets both illegal and highly dangerous—a virtually unstoppable assassin and an out-of-control clique within the Agency.

Torn between loyalty and conscience, Reid must find a way to alert the President and avert a national disaster. But with the Whiplash team caught in the chaos of a brutal African civil war and CIA officials desperate to keep Reid from telling what he knows, a monster re-emerges to target its creators . . .

My Review:

Seeing this book in the shop section as a Free Friday offering surprised me somewhat. It appears to be part of a series of books (that part was not a surprise) but instead of being the first book in a series this one appears to be the most recent one from what I could gather from Barnes and Noble’s website.

This is not the normal way that Barnes and Noble’s Free Fridays usually operate. I can only assume that the next book in the series is soon to be released. I know that they have previously released a free version of an author’s book only to send me an email a month later that the newest book was now available for purchase. I suspect that is what will happen this time as well since the story’s loose ends were not all neatly tied up at the end, much to my disappointment. This is one of the negatives of this story.

However, lest you think that I am going to give this one a bad review, you are wrong. The only other negative would be that the language and sometimes the violence were a little bit jarring for me.

That could just as easily be part of the story’s good points as well. When one of the characters in the book surprised me by killing another, he is haunted by what he has done and has nightmares where he see the guy he shot in nightmares, talking to him with the bullet hole still in his head. This image affected me as well. Though I didn’t have any nightmares from it—thank God, I could see this image of the victim with a bullet hole in his head talking about the various aspects of the computer he discovers.

Forgive me for being vague but I don’t want to give too much away. To sum it up though, great scenes and great characters are what make this story good. The massacre scene had me heart-broken for the Sudanese people caught up in the violence that all started primarily out of the discovery of a top-secret, illegal weapon that the United States government lost while it was targeting a Chinese weapons dealer.

The characters have a history, as most great characters in series fiction do, and the fact that I got a sense of that out of just this one novel, makes me feel like they are real people. Though they certainly don’t exist in my world, I get the sense that they could exist somewhere out there and this is what makes me connect with them and their story. Best of all, it is free on the Nook.

Contains: violence—especially war violence, as well as some foul language

Leave a Reply

