Amberville

Published October 13, 2012 by myliteraryleanings

Review of Amberville by Tim Davys

Overview from www.bn.com:

What does it mean to be bad?

Eric Bear has it all: a successful career, a beautiful wife, a blissful home. He knows he’s been lucky; a while back, his life revolved around drugs, gambling, a gang of stuffed-animal thugs, and notorious crime boss Nicholas Dove.

But the past isn’t as far away as Eric had hoped. Rumors are swirling that Dove is on the Death List and that he wants Eric to save him. If Eric fails to act, his beloved wife, Emma Rabbit, will be torn apart, limb from limb, and reduced to stuffing.

With a nod to the best of noir and the wisest of allegories—interlaced with greed and gangsters—Amberville depicts an alternate world that mirrors our own realities and moral concerns, and reminds us of the inextricable link between good and evil.

My Review:

Nothing could have prepared me for reading this novel about the lives of stuffed animals—absolustly nothing. I could describe it in one word. Weird. It is the strangest story that I have ever read and for the most part, I don’t think that is a good thing.

Okay, I admit I had certain expectations going into it which were not entirely fair but nonetheless, the description that Barnes and Noble or the publisher wrote were inadequate. They left a lot out.

First off, this is not a children’s story even though it about stuffed animals. I am not sure why I thought that it was but it’s not. I would not let any young kids read it. Besides having a vocabulary that is too high for them, there are swear words and adult content is part of this story.

This is not its worst sin, if you will permit me to use the word, of the story. The worst sin is the way it keeps jumping all over the place. We often go from past to present than back to another present all within one chapter as we visit the point of view of multiple characters, some of whom we are never introduced to beforehand.

I often found myself wondering why are we going in the past at this particular point in time and what does this have to do with the plot? The main plot that is.

I stuck with the story till the end with the hopes that I might find answers to those very questions and that in the end I would feel that all the digression were worthwhile. I didn’t. Some of the digressions were explained but most were not and I am not even entirely sure about the ending either. What decision did the main character make? I don’t really know. Only half of his decision was clear. A little more explanation was needed, I thought and I didn’t get any.

That being said you might like this story. If you like stories that frequently drift between the past and the present as well as going inside the heads of mentally unstable characters that happen to be stuffed animals this could be for you. If not, you might agree with me that this is one you should skip.

Contains: some swearing and violence.

Below is the trailer for the book.

I also include a really weird video of the author discussing it.

Leave a Reply

