Boo

Published January 26, 2013 by myliteraryleanings

boo coverReview of Boo by Rene Gutteridge

Overview from www.bn.com: Talk about Working out Your Faith with Fear and Trembling.

The biggest thing to happen to Skary, Indiana, is renowned horror novelist Wolfe Boone–or, “Boo,” as the locals fondly call him. For the past sixteen years, the reclusive writer has been the town’s greatest attraction, having unintentionally turned the once-struggling Skary into a thriving tourist-trap for the dark side: from the Haunted Mansion restaurant, famous for its “bloody fingers” (fries splattered with ketchup) to Spooky’s Bookstore (where employees dress like the walking dead).

But when a newly reformed Wolfe suddenly quits the genre and subsequently starts to pursue Skary’s favorite girl-next-door, Ainsley Parker, the little town made famous by his writings becomes truly horrified. Soon, a scheme is plotted to put the fright back into Skary–and get their most famous resident out of love and back into the thrill business.

My Review:

If you have been reading this blog for recently you might have noticed that I have been trying to find more books by Rene Gutteridge simply because I liked her writing style and story in Listen. A couple of weeks ago I read Scoop which was part of the Occupational Hazards Series. Boo is another novel and series by Rene Gutteridge.

The verdict is: I liked this one but not as much as the other novels. I don’t know if I like it enough to continue with the series. The first half in particular was hard to follow. One of the main characters, Ainsley, seemed judgmental to me. I had a hard time caring about her at all.

As the novel continues though, I was a little more understanding towards her once more of her back story was revealed. I know you’re not supposed to reveal too much back story at once but in this case it might have helped.

Wolfe “Boo” Boone, in contrast, was very likeable for me. Yes he writes scary stories which I don’t care for. As a person however, he is a kind though reclusive soul who just wanted to make a living as a writer and bury the pain of his past. I can relate to that as I too hope to make a living as a writer someday though I don’t think I could write horror novels.

Of course the whole time I read the segments with Boo in them I couldn’t help thinking about Steven King. I knew some people in college who were from New England and had told me stories about seeing him in the local bookstore. If the stories they told me are true, Boo is better than Steven King. The only thing they have in common is that they both write great horror novels.

I am not saying that Steven King is bad, only that he doesn’t sound like the kind reclusive novelist that Boo is. Of course Boo is also unmarried and doesn’t have children, unlike King. The description that Gutteridge writes of him made me think of a cross between Steven King and Doc Brown from Back to the Future for any of you who are old enough to remember that movie.

As for humor, like all of Gutteridge’s books, the humor is great. I am sure that I missed some of the jokes but I still picked up on a few. Miss Peeple is hilarious even while being quite the villain. Still even she seems to have a good reason to keep Boo writing horror novels. She is the only character who doesn’t seem to change. At the end of the novel though we get a hint to what other schemes she will be cooking up next. I don’t know if I will be following them however.

Leave a Reply

