Brisingr

Published March 9, 2013 by myliteraryleanings

brisingr cover

Review of Brisingr by Christopher Paolini

Overview from www.bn.com: Oaths sworn . . . loyalties tested . . . forces collide.

It’s been only months since Eragon first uttered “brisingr,” the ancient language term for fire. Since then, he’s not only learned to create magic with words-he’s been challenged to his very core. Following the colossal battle against the Empire’s warriors on the Burning Plains, Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have narrowly escaped with their lives. Still, there is more adventure at hand for the Rider and his dragon, as Eragon finds himself bound by a tangle of promises he may not be able to keep.

First is Eragon’s oath to his cousin, Roran: to help rescue Roran’s beloved from King Galbatorix’s clutches. But Eragon owes his loyalty to others, too. The Varden are in desperate need of his talents and strength-as are the elves and dwarves. When unrest claims the rebels and danger strikes from every corner, Eragon must make choices-choices that will take him across the Empire and beyond, choices that may lead to unimagined sacrifice.

Eragon is the greatest hope to rid the land of tyranny. Can this once simple farm boy unite the rebel forces and defeat the king?

My Review:

After a marathon reading event this past weekend, I finally finished Brisingr by Christopher Paolini. Brisingr is the third book in the series that began with the book Eragon.

The last book ended on such an exciting note that I was anxious for the story to continue but alas would have to wait until my copy from the digital library was available. Last weekend that day finally arrived and I tried to read as much as I could in order to finish the book before my two weeks were up. I finished after only seven days which include the marathon reading weekend I just mentioned earlier.

The book was all I hoped for and more. It tied up some loose ends and surprised me with a few revelations. The plot too continues to become more exciting, except for some of the dwarf debates. Lest you think the dwarf tunnels are all dull, the hatred that some dwarf clans displayed towards him comes to a head in this book.

Eragon and Saphira also mature while Murtagh and Thorn diminish emotionally as they suffer under Galbatroix’s dominion. Roran also continues to come into his own as he finally marries his true love, Katrina.

I am not sure what else I can say without giving away too many spoilers so I will try to convey some of it through my favorites quotes in the novel. This time I seemed to have focused a lot on description as I have been reading about how to write good description recently so most of my quotes will probably focus on that.

“The low mound of coals throbbed like the heart of some giant beast. Occasionally, a patch of gold sparks flared into existence and raced across the surface of the wood before vanishing into a white-hot crevice.” P. 24

“Bending their heads together, he and Hvedra rubbed noses. Eragon glanced away, feeling lonely and excluded.”  P. 371

Be forewarned that this book is a long one, so plan on devoting a lot of time if you plan to read it all the way through. I don’t think

It is not all bad though. It makes me really appreciate the work it must have taken to breathe fire into this story (pun intended). I think you will enjoy it too. I can’t wait to read the final book but for now I think I must take a breather from such long tomes.

Contains: war violence

Leave a Reply

