Everybody’s Daughter

Published April 20, 2013 by myliteraryleanings

Everybody's Daughter cover

Review of Everybody’s Daughter by Michael John Sullivan

Overview from www.bn.com:

What if you had a chance to ask a loved one for forgiveness – after they died? What would you say? Would you give up your own lifetime of happiness for someone else?

Michael Stewart confronts these questions as he travels back in time through a mysterious tunnel in an old church when the Romans ruled with brutal violence and Jesus preached his peaceful message. His teenage daughter Elizabeth soon follows Michael, but is surprised to discover that her father is nowhere to be found. Little does she know that Michael has returned safely to the present, leaving her to battle a vicious Roman soldier….

Thrilling and suspenseful, Everbody’s Daughter takes readers on a miraculous journey of their own, where salvation can be found in acts of sacrifice and hope remains forever eternal through the passage of a tunnel.

My Review:

To say that this book is strange would be an understatement. I can honestly say I have never read anything like it.

It starts off with an allusion to time travel. We later learn hear the main characters talking amongst themselves about having been to Jerusalem in the time of Christ. Yes, it appears that there was a book before this one and it did indeed involve time travel to the first century A.D.

Michael tells his daughter, Elizabeth, that he feels guilty for leaving the first century without making sure that someone named Leah is ok. We soon learn that he has feelings for Leah and wants to marry her but is unsure how to find his way back.

However to simply say that this is a time travel novel would be misleading. There are elements of historical fiction, action and adventure, as well as the spirituality inherent in any story that touches on the life of Christ.

All of this left me a little confused though I still found the story beautiful. I have always wondered and imagined what it would be like to meet Jesus face-to-face and in the flesh. This book presents one way of imagining such a scenario. I often wonder what he would say to me and which questions he would answer. I think the author did a good job of imagining that though of course we most likely will never know for sure if it is right.

I am finding it difficult to really explain what this story is about so I think I will stop here and let my readers decide. If you feel you want to hear a story that tells of love and forgiveness and you are not too worried about certain details then this might be the story for you. It might be best though if you read the book before this one first.

While I can’t say I loved this one, I liked it enough to keep reading it. The scenes with Jesus in it were my favorite. I found myself wanting to reach out and touch him. Perhaps you will too.

Contains: some violence and sexuality.

Leave a Reply

